Implantable Bionics Laboratory

People at Implantable Bionics

Academic Staff

Name Position Email Research Area
Prof. Gregg Suaning Project Leader g.suaning@unsw.edu.au implantable bionics and neuromodulation
Dr. Alejandro Barriga Rivera Post-doc a.barrigarivera@unsw.edu.au
Dr. Lilach Bareket Post-doc l.bareket@unsw.edu.au Neurotechnologies, Nanobiomaterials, Biosensors, Electrochemistry, Biotechnology, Flexible implanted and wearable electrodes
Dr. Marc Patrick Zapf Post-doc m.zapf@unsw.edu.au Image Prosessing, Simulation and Virtual Reality, Bionic Eye

Professional Staff

Name Position Email Research Area
Mr. Jin Yu Biomedical Engineer j.f.yu@unsw.edu.au Bionic Eye, Silicone Technology, Laser Technology
Mr. Phil Preston Senior Technical Officer p.preston@unsw.edu.au Electrical Engineering, Lab management
Ms. Silvia Duo Biomedical Engineer silvia.duo@unsw.edu.au Bionic Eye, Cochlear, FEA, Laser Technology

PhD Students

Name Email Thesis Topic
Greg Watkins greg.watkins@student.unsw.edu.au Cochlear Implant Sound Processing
Steven Zheng steven.zheng@student.unsw.edu.au Psychophisics of Prosthetic Vision

Thesis Students

Name Email Thesis Topic
Grant Kelly grant.kelly@student.unsw.edu.au Modelling Electrical Stimulation of Novel Electrode Arrays for the Bionic Eye
Stephen Chung z3463108@ad.unsw.edu.au Three Degree of Freedom, Automated Test System for Radio Telemetry Assessment in Implantable Bionics
Zack Artist z.artist@student.unsw.edu.au Encapsulation and Accelerated Age Testing of the Phoenix 686 Bionic Eye Prototype